Monday, 20 February 2017

Book Review | Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten

My Rating: 5/10
Published: January 12th 2017
Pages: 352
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller
Amazon | Goodreads Book Depository


Beware that Girl describes itself as being for fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl, a psychological thriller where the main characters are teenage girls and it takes place in the mega rich lives of New York's elite. That sounds like a pretty epic description right, which is why I picked up the book. Unfortunately I found the description of this book as a psychological thriller to be a little bit too generous. 

Beware That Girl is told from two points of view, Kate who is a self confessed liar and has a very rocky history, and Olivia, a very wealthy it girl who's reliance on pills to help steady her mood makes her the perfect target to Kate who has decided to become best friends with her in order to use their friendship for Kate to get everything she has ever wanted in life, money, status etc. 

Fans of Gossip Girl may well enjoy this book as it is a very easy read about the mega rich New Yorkers and the shenanigans they get up to, they even get a dog who they call Bruce! Now don't get me wrong, I am a massive fan of Gossip Girl so for me this wasn't actually that much of a deal breaker, it's just when something sells itself as being a thriller I expected something a lot darker than what was served.

This book also relies far too heavily on stereotypes. All of the girls featured in this book are what you would expect a New York girl who attends private school to be like and just come across as very flat characters. For me though, the biggest issue was when it came to the portrayal of Mrs Chen, a Chinese lady and Olivia's housekeeper. Everything from the way their body shape is described to the speech they used is so stereotypical I found it almost offensive. 

However as I mentioned, this book is an easy enough read for anyone who likes things along the lines of Pretty Little Liars etc, and although most of the twists within the book were predictable it did have a couple that were very clever that I enjoyed. 

No comments:

Post a Comment