Thursday, 28 July 2016

5 Books to Read If You Liked Harry Potter

It's no secret that I'm a massive Harry Potter fan. It's a series that I grew up with so it's very close to my heart, so much so that I've got a Dumbledore quote tattooed on my back! Needless to say I'm excited for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child to be released on Sunday, but to help keep us all going until then here are some books you may enjoy. Basically they all involve magic schools because that was one of my favourite aspects of Harry Potter.

5 books like harry potter
1. First up, and quite obviously is Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. For anyone who has read Fangirl, the characters Simon Snow and Baz will be instantly recognisable as they are the subject of Cath's fanfiction.
This book follows Simon and Baz as they are in their last year at Watford School of Magicks. Simon is the prophecised greatest magic the world has seen but there are lots of evil forces out to try and get him.
Baz is Simons room-mate, and mortal enemy, oh and also a vampire.
If any of the plot sounds familiar, well it may be because it is. Carry On is quite often described as Harry Potter fan fiction, and although there are quite a few parallels it is most definitely a different book and well worth giving a read.

5 books like harry potter
2. Next up we have The Magicians' Guild by Trudi Canavan, the first book in The Black Magician Triology.
Unlike Harry Potter, The Magicians Guild is actually an adult fantasy book, but don't let that discourage you as this is one of the few adult fantasy books where the language used hasn't been totally overwhelming at the start.
Sonea is the main character of The Magicians Guild. In her world Magicians are the ultimate power and every year they gather together to purge the city streets of vagrants, urchins and miscreants. They are protected by their sheild, that is until Sonea, an ordinary girl throws a stone that breaks the shield.
The guild instantly take Sonea to be trained (read go to magic school) in an attempt to control her powers before she ends up destroying everything and everyone.

5 books like harry potter
3. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. Every four years two girls are kidnapped from their hometown and are sent to the School for Good and Evil, a place where they learn to either become a fairytale hero or vilian.
The School for Good and Evil follows Sophie, a beautiful girl who has always dreamed of going to the school and becomming a hero, and her friend Agatha who seems destined to go to the school of evil.
When the girls end up at the school though it seems their paths are reversed and Sophie ends up attending the school of evil, with classes such as Uglification, Death Curses and Henchmen Training, whilst Agatha finds herself at the school for good amongst handsome princes and gets to take classes like Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.
This is the first book that follows Sophie and Agatha as they try to settle in their new roles and the girls try and find out if it is all one big mistake.

5 books like harry potter
4. The Magicians by Lev Grossman. The Magicians is the first book in yet another triology. This series is slightly aimed at a slightly older audience than Harry Potter was as it sees the main character Quentin Coldwater turning up for an interview to Princeton, only to be examined for entrance to Brakebills College for Magical Pedagogy instead, the only school for magic in America.
Quentin is accepted and moves to the college but quickly discovers that learning magic is actually quite tedious and difficult.
The Magicians is often described as Harry Potter for adults, and it's quite easy to see why. As well as being set at a university rather then secondary school, the book explores the full college life including, friendship. love sex and booze, all whilst trying to juggle a magical education.

5 books like harry potter
5. Lastly we have Pegasi & Prefects by Eleanor Beresford. The last book in my little round up once again features a magical boarding school, Fernlegih Manor and focuses on Charley Forest, an easy going tomboy who can communicate with magical animals as she is in her last year.
Things have been peaceful for Charley until this year when she finds herself with the unwelcome responsibilities of game captainship, being a prefect and finding herself falling head over hills for another girl. Oh, and there is a new girl this year who has a very special magical gift and quickly ends up being Charley's rival.
A YA set at a magical boarding school and has LGBT elements? Sounds epic!


So there you go, hopefully a lot of books to keep you going in the run up to The Cursed Child and to help satisfy that magic school itch long after you have finished reading it.
Do you have any more books like this you would recommend? If so let me know, I would love to have more to check out!

2 comments:

  1. Awesome post! I am a huge Harry Potter fan too, and grew up with it as well, so I'm always looking out for books that will remind me of it in some way. It just makes me feel all nostalgic! Surprisingly I've actually never read any of these books, but they all look pretty intriguing. I'll be adding them to my TBR list, so thanks for the recommendations!
    I hope you enjoy The Cursed Child! I am super excited to go and pick up my copy tomorrow :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ah yay I'm glad you enjoyed the list :) I seriously recommend starting with The Magicians Guild, it is incredible and my favourite on this list.
      Let me know what you think of The Cursed Child, I've got my copy but I'm a little bit hesitant to start reading it because of all the mixed reviews, I get that it's a screen play and not an actual book but eek!

      Delete